Reviews

2016 Charles Vineyard Semillon

September 11, 2018:

The Santa Rosa Press Democrat awarded our 2016 Semillon 4/5 stars, and named it one of "10 to try."

Wine writer Linda Murphy's article, "Enjoy the last hot days of the season with unique whites like chenin blanc," suggests: "For every summer-like day-into-evening, there is crisp white wine to quench the thirst, get the saliva jets firing and cool the palate. Chardonnay and sauvignon blanc are easy choices, but why not try something unusual, a bit more racy and altogether local?..."

The review of our Semillon reads: "Lemon oil and green-fig aromas lead to slightly tart but not sharp Meyer lemon and mandarine flavors. The midpalate is slightly creamy, the finish brisk."

2015 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir

March 2018:

Wine Enthusiast Magazine awarded our 2015 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir 93 points, plus an Editor's Choice for its fantastic price! The review reads: "This is an envelope-pushing wine that’s distinctive and untamed in the way that it combines earthy, savory and mineral aromas with complex, meaty and fruity flavors that have wonderful depth on the palate and length on the finish. The balance is spot-on due to firm acidity and lean tannins, supporting the tangle of unusual and enjoyable tastes. Zero in this case means no added yeast, no new oak and no fining or filtration. Editors’ Choice. —J.G."

2015 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir

June 21, 2018:

The Charles Family had been growing grapes for several years before founding their Foursight label in 2006. The name refers to the four generations who've worked this Anderson Valley land, where they grow Pinot Noir, as well as Sauvignon Blanc and Sémillon, which are far less common for the area. Foursight's 2015 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir exudes the red-fruit profile typical of this southern edge of the Anderson Valley - wild strawberry and cranberry meet Christmas spices and ginger. -- Bryce Wiatrak

2012 Zero New Oak Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir

December 11, 2014:

The 2012 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir garnered 91 points in the recent issue of PinotFile!

Reviewer Rusty Gaffney writes: "Moderately light reddish purple color in the glass. Bright cherry is the focus of this juicy wine which is very soft and seamless on the palate. Added accents of raspberry, brown spice and sandalwood add interest. Inviting balance and harmony and highly approachable now."

December 1, 2014:

The Santa Rosa Press Democrat awarded our 2012 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir 3 1/2 stars!

The review in their "Wine of the Week" column reads: "This pinot rides on its bright cherry fruit, and its crisp acidity makes the fruit even more high-toned. This pinot will be snapped up fast."

August 2015:

Wine Enthusiast magazine awarded our 2012 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir 91 points and an Editors' Choice designation. Editors' Choice wines are those that offer excellent quality, or a wine at any price with unique qualities that merit special attention. Full review text to come.

2011 Clone 05 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir

March 2014:

Wine Enthusiast Magazine awarded our 2011 Clone 05 Pinot Noir 90 points! The reviews reads: "Foursight's 2011 Pinot, from a very cool vintage, is savory, with mushroom and herb alongside a streak of red cherry. Light in color and texture, it's subtle yet expansive on the palate, with a peppery, juicy finish. It's a wine that can be enjoyed now, but put some away for a couple of years and the seams will come together event better.

March 10, 2014:

Our 2011 Clone 05 Pinot was awarded 93 points by Wine Review Online! "...It’s very floral on the nose, with red cherry, sarsaparilla and a light hint of dry earth. Rich and forward on the palate, with a juicy entry and balanced acid carrying flavors through a finish that will get longer with further bottle aging. I’m not usually a fan of lots of new oak, but this wine handles it with style. Well done!"

July 2014:

PinotFile awarded the 2011 Clone 05 Pinot Noir 92 points!

"Moderately light reddish purple color in the glass. A penetrating nose flush with aromas of black pie cherries, dried herbs, brewed tea and toasty oak. Very flavorful, with impressive fullness and plushness on the palate, featuring flavors of dark red cherry and berry with a touch of cola. Soft and silky with a cherry-driven finish embellished with a deft touch of oak. I have said it many times, Pommard is my paramour."

__reviews