Reviews

2018 Charles Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc

January 2020:

Another medal for our current-release wines: our 2018 Sauvignon Blanc was awarded a gold medal at the 2020 San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition!

2018 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir

May 2021:

Honored to receive 91 points for our 2018 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir in the May issue of Wine Enthusiast Magazine! Full review to come soon.

January 19, 2021:

Our 2018 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir was awarded 4/5 stars in the Santa Rosa Press Democrat's Wine of the Week Column! The review read: "This pinot has generous red fruit — cherry with a hint of pomegranate — buoyed by bright acidity. Finishes crisp. Impressive."

April 2020:

We're thrilled to announce our 2018 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir was awarded 90 points and a Best Buy in Wine & Spirits Magazine! Joshua Greene wrote: "As fruit-driven as the name would suggest, this grows at William and Nancy Charles’s estate vineyard southeast of Boon- ville. They have never brought commercial yeasts or malolactic bacteria into the winery, enlisting the local microbial populations to vinify their wines. Joe Webb supervises that process, including the wines’ 10 months in used French oak barrels, pro- ducing a clean, fragrant red with scents of cherries and strawberries and light, earthy tannins to last alongside the fruit perfume."

2018 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir

May 2021:

Our 2018 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir was scored 92 points in the May 2021 issue of Wine Enthusiast Magazine! Full review to come soon.

2018 Clone 05 Pinot Noir

May 2021:

We're honored to receive 93 points for our 2018 Clone 05 Pinot Noir in May's Wine Enthusiast Magazine! Full review to come soon.

February 2020:

We're thrilled to announce a Double Gold medal for our 2018 Clone 05 Pinot Noir, awarded at this year's San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition!

2018 Paraboll Pinot Noir

November 30, 2020:

Our 2018 Paraboll was awarded 92 points in The Wine Spectator! The review reads: "There's a minerally snap to the richly spiced plum tart and dried berry flavors of this red, featuring plenty of loamy accents. Hints of French roast appear on the contoured, well-structured finish. Drink now through 2025. ..."

May 2021:

We're honored to receive 92 points for our 2018 Paraboll Pinot Noir in May's issue of Wine Enthusiast Magazine! Full review to come soon.

2018 Charles Vineyard Semillon

May 2021:

We're thrilled that our 2018 Semillon was scored 91 points in the May 2021 issue of Wine Enthusiast Magazine! Full review to come soon.

2021:

We are thrilled that our Semillon won a gold medal at this year's San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition!

2017 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir

Spring 2020, Issue 78:

We're thrilled that the 2017 Zero New Oak Pinot Noir received 91 points in the current issue of Burghound.com!

Reviewer Allen Meadows wrote: "Airy and ultra-elegant aromas waft from the glass to gradually reveal notes of essence of red cherry, apple and an interesting hint of exotic tea. The wonderfully textured medium-bodied flavors are impressively sleek while retaining fine detail on the mildly austere, dusty and focused finale. This is a lovely and understated effort that should go beautifully with the right foods. 91/2024+"

2017 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir

Spring 2020, Issue 78:

Our 2017 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir received a 90-point score in the current issue of Burghound.com!

Reviewer Allen Meadows wrote: "A mentholated top note can be found on the equally cool and airy red berry fruit aromas where lovely floral nuances add breadth. Here too there is both good verve and delineation to the slightly finer medium-bodied flavors that deliver better persistence. While there is a touch of youthful austerity as well, the balance is more harmonious. 90/2024+"

July 2020:

We're thrilled to receive 93 points in Wine Spectator for our flagship Pinot: the 2017 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir.

The review reads: "Big and rich, featuring well-knit flavors of concentrated dark currant, cherry compote and dried blackberry. Creamy midpalate, with hints of chocolate mousse on the plus finish. ..." Rich flavors, at just 13.6% alcohol - one of our choices for cellaring.

January 2020:

Our third wine entered, and our third medal received! Our 2017 Charles Vineyard Pinot Noir was awarded a silver medal at the 2020 San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition!

__reviews

x